Book Review: A Vow so Bold and Deadly by: Brigid Kemmerer

Post by: BookGirl

A Curse so Dark and Lonely (book 1)

A Heart so Fierce and Broken (book 2)

A Vow so Bold and Deadly (book 3)

By: Brigid Kemmerer

Cover: I really like this cover as well. There is a big change on the cover. I mean it still looks every similar but it is also very different. The mood and the flowers are different. The red is just so much bolder than the blue and green covers. I like it and I like all of them together.

Story: ★★★ I liked this part of the story as well. We get to follow all our main players in this one. If you are less fond of a character or two you might be disappointed because I think this the shortest book and everyone had to share the page time. There is also a lot of movement in the book so character are separated and then meet up with others only to have to leave and go meet up with others. So your favs might not get as much page time as you would like.

Writing: ★★★ At this point of the story the author has managed to get me to like all of the characters even the ones I did not want to like. So no matter who was in the scene I was fine with it. There was a point in the early middle (I think) where I got a bit discouraged. I saw bad stuff coming and I wasn’t sure I wanted to read it. It wasn’t a super strong feeling I have defiantly had worse and still finished the book, so I was no way actually going to stop. But I did have that moment.

Characters:★★★ 

Main: So now we are basically up to 4, three for sure but basically 4, main characters. They all really struggled but there were a few times I would’ve liked to slap them all. I think this was the first time I felt like if I could just lock them all in a room and make them talk it out we could have solved everything… or at least some of the big issues.

Supporting: We only get a few new ones and that is probably for the best, we have a pretty big cast already and this was not a super long book.

Feels: ★★★ I still had the feels. I know what I said above about locking them in a room but they all still had issues and traumas to deal with. We still got a few funny moments and some kissing too.  

World: ★★★ We don’t really get to see any new places in this book. The characters travel but it’s all really places we have already seen. Which is fine. They cover a lot of area in these books. I still really like the world and it’s magic.

Overall grade:★★★ 

Attachment: So other than the moment I got discourage, which really wasn’t that bad, I just wanted to note it was there. I finished this book fairly quickly. Not as fast as the first one but then again that one was a bit longer.

Recommendation: I am going to go with read it. I don’t really understand the mixed reviews I got. I did have a chance to talk to a friend about the books. She was the one that liked the first book but not the second one and as I suspected it was mostly because it did not follow the characters she wanted to follow. Perhaps if you keep that in mind going in then you will not be as disappointed.  

One thought on “Book Review: A Vow so Bold and Deadly by: Brigid Kemmerer

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑