Book Review: The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea By: Axie Oh

Post by: Anastasia

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

By: Axie Oh

Cover: I really like the cover of this book. It’s part of what made me want to read it initially and, now that I have read it, I think it matches the story very well.

Story: ★★★★ The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a young adult fantasy standalone. We follow Mina, who’s people sacrifice a beautiful maiden each year in the hopes of appeasing the Sea God and stopping the deadly storms that have ravaged the lands for generations. Mina chooses to go in the place of another girl and ends up in the Spirit Realm. There she finds the Sea God in an enchanted sleep and learns that she has 30 days to break his curse before she becomes a spirit herself.

This story felt different then a lot of other stories I’ve read. The best way I think I can describe it is, it felt like reading an old fairytale. But I really liked this book, and it was magical and very enjoyable to read.

Writing: ★★★★  I think the author did a great job writing this story. The were a few tasks that felt a little too easy, but I enjoyed the story and characters enough that it didn’t bother me too much.

Characters: ★★★★

Main: Mina was a pretty easy character to root for. She was likeable and there weren’t a lot of moments that I wondered why she chose a certain action or took a risk. Most were really understandable (with at least one exception that I can think of at the moment) based on her character and how focused she was on saving her people. I think this is a character that I could see myself being friends with if she was a real person.

Supporting: We had several supporting characters and I can’t think of any I didn’t like at least a little. I think my only real problem with them is that I wish we had a little more time to spend with them and get to know them better. Which I guess isn’t really a problem since I liked them enough to want to read more about them.

Feels: ★★★★ I like Mina, so it wasn’t hard to connect to her character and get swept up into the magical story the author created.

World: ★★★★★ The world was one of my favorite parts of this book. It was interesting learning about the Spirit Realm and how it worked. I would love to see more of it one day if the author ever chooses to write a sequel or spin off for this book.

Overall grade: ★★★★

Attachment: It took me a few sittings to read this book. I would read a somewhat large chunk each time before real life would get in the way and keep me from reading it for a little while. But I enjoyed reading it each time I picked it up.

Recommendation:  I would recommend this book, especially if you enjoy Fantasy/Fairy Tale books.

One thought on “Book Review: The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea By: Axie Oh

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑