Book Review: The Midnight Star By: Marie Lu

Post by: Anastasia

The Young Elites (The Young Elites Book 1)

The Rose Society (The Young Elites Book 2)

The Midnight Star (The Young Elites Book 3)

By Marie Lu

Cover:  I think this is my favorite cover of this series. And, now that I’ve finished the book, I think it actually fits the book well.

Story: ★★★★ I have finally finished this series! I didn’t have a lot of expectations or predictions going into this final novel, but I did have one that I have mixed feelings about being right about. With the exception of that one prediction, I don’t know if I ever would have expected the story to end the way it did. There were some parts I really liked and I think Marie Lu ties up most of the loose ends pretty nicely, but I don’t think this book was my favorite that she’s written. This wasn’t a bad ending for the series, but I can’t help but wish things went a little differently for Adelina, although it was still a nicer ending than I thought she would get.

Writing: ★★★★ I enjoyed Marie Lu’s writing in this book, it was a really unique story.

Characters:★★★★★

Main: I feel like Adelina had a decent amount of growth in this book. It was nice to see her story end on a more positive note than I initially expected it to, even if I wished it would end better than it did. She was a one of a kind character and I enjoyed reading her story.

Supporting: There were a couple characters that stood out and I came to sort of care for one that I didn’t think I would. The rest weren’t really as memorable for me.

Feels: ★★★★ I think that if I had read this book back when I read The Young Elites for the first time, it would’ve had a stronger impact on me. But there were only a few scenes that really made me feel something. I also feel like part of me was expecting this story to unfold differently than it did, even if I didn’t know exactly how I thought it would go.

World: ★★★★★ The world was one of the best parts of this series. Lu does a good job at developing the different kingdoms and we got to see a whole other side of the world in this book.

Overall grade:★★★★

Attachment: This book took me a while to finish and I don’t think I thought about the story much when I wasn’t reading it. Life kind of got in the way, but I did enjoy the story overall.

Recommendation: I would recommend this series to anyone that is a fan of Marie Lu’s other books or is a fan of fantasy books.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑